I just passed 1,000 real (i.e., people I actually know) connections on LinkedIn

I just passed 1,000 real (i.e., people I actually know) connections on LinkedIn. Hooray for business-focused social networking.

Business networking

[Update: 18-Oct-11]
Now with 1,101 direct contacts my network reaches into some pretty interesting places.  For starters I now have over 280,000 second-degree (i.e., friends of friends) contacts which is a pretty incredible feat in and of itself but I also have more than 8.6 million third-degree connections who can be reached through one of my friend’s friends.  Regrettably – although for obvious reasons – my network is still very United States focused with the top areas of regional access being large domestic metropolitan areas such as Chicago, New York, and San Francisco.  A few days ago I used the LinkedIn Labs InMap experiment to visualize just how my network looks when all of the interconnections are visualized in a single two-dimensional data map.

Check it out.

