Beer post XII: Kirin Ichiban by Kirin Brewery Company

Just because it is popular, doesn't mean it has to be good.

I am a big fan of sushi and when I eat it I often find myself choosing between Kirin Ichiban and Sapporo, so when I found myself at a local sushi purveyor I decided to opt for the former.  In retrospect I wonder if it had simply been a while since I had Kirin or if this particular pint was to blame, but I was definitely not a fan.  When I got home and pulled up the RateBeer.com page, I discovered two items that I found equally disturbing:

  • Anheuser-Busch began brewing Kirin Lager, Kirin Ichiban and Kirin Light at its Los Angeles brewery in 1997.
  • The readers of RateBeer.com gave the brew a whopping 9/100 score (which is probably heavy-handed to a certain degree).

Irrespective of these two points, the beer was not good.  It wasn’t garbage like a warm can of Piel’s but it just wasn’t a delicious pint.  I know Kirin Ichiban is immensely popular but ask yourself, just because a lot of people drink it – does that make it good?

